How to save money 101 (The bad way)

By now, if you’ve been reading some of my posts, you would have noticed that I am a shopaholic….or a reformed one at least.

In the past, I would go to extreme lengths to reserve or stretch my money for my spending expeditions.

Now I wouldn’t really call any of the below tips, ‘practical saving tips’. In fact, I would say that in hindsight these are merely ways to manipulate your budget and not tactics that I want to ever revert to again.

It wasn’t very positive or uplifting. Normally when you manage to improve your budget or cut non essential spendings, you feel better about it because any excess money would be going to a better cause, whether it be saving for a holiday, or saving to put an extra payment on your mortgage or saving to pay off your bad debt.

But no…any possible saving I made eventually went to spending on clothes. In fact, the below tactics had the sole purpose of stretching out my budget so I could spend on whatever item I ‘needed’ to get.

Tips on how to save money (for my shopping expeditions)

Groceries in Brown Paper Bag

  • Groceries…who needs them. One of the biggest discretionary items that got cut was my grocery bill. Fresh vegetables and product was regularly replaced with grocery, pre-made soup (4 for $10) and other packet goods. Thankfully, I regularly visited my family during the week, all who were nice enough to feed me.
  • images (3)Credit card savoir – Another way I’d stretch my money would be to use my credit card. There were months, after allocating money to bills, I had no spare money to shop. A way to overcome this would, I would pay my credit card minimum for the month…then spend that amount on shopping. The credit card bills got paid, in a functionality sense, and I got to shop still.
  • Library books – I have a love for books but if I had to choose over a couple new release paperbacks or a new item of clothing…you know who’d win. This eventually led me to the local library and the act of borrowing books. Sure…they had a funky smell to them every now and then…but I kinda liked the feeling of reading a precious novel that was shared amongst the masses…or at least the local Helensvale senior club :/

librarybooks

  • Beauty Products – I regularly ran out of products and literally had no money to replenish my stores. I ended up hero_imagefinding very creative ways to maintain aspects of beauty at minimum to no cost. Honey…my mantra was, “if all else fails use honey”. I was lathering honey everywhere for all kinds of beauty rememdies. “Have a pimple, put some honey on it”, “Sore throat – Honey water will do the trick”, “Cut your finger….never fear…honey will minimise infection.” Bi-carb Soda also works well for a shampoo alternative and I used lemon as a toner a couple times. Olive oil is also great as a moisturiser and not just useful for your trio of dips with bread menu item.

Thank fully now….being on the mend as a recovering shopaholic, I don’t have to resort to these measures however I did learn some valuable lessons some I won’t ever repeat and some, such as my innovative beauty methods, that I actually haven’t stopped using due to its effectiveness.

Leave a Reply

