One Shopping Addiction with a side of denial thank you!

Hello my name is Yolanda and its been 7 days since my last purchase.

Okay, one thing I want to point out is that unlike other addictions like alcoholism where it’s not necessary to purchase or consume alcohol…shopaholism, you do actually need to purchase clothes from time to time.

Now I’m not saying this to justify purchasing a new Oroton bag or anything, no? But, from time to time, I might need to buy a new pair of jeans, or runners or bras and undies…it’s an essential. But where I have to draw the line now is the cost and at times the volume (I have been known to purchase the same item multiple times…in order to have all the released colors). So instead of buying a $270 pair of Sass n Bide jeans…I have to opt for perhaps a…deep breath…Jeans West alternative.

So back to my post…I have a shopping addiction and it took me many years to admit it. Truth is…deep down, I always knew I had a problem…but it’s not until you actually admit it out aloud that you can take action.

Denial. The dictionary defines it as, ‘A refusal to accept or believe something, such as a doctrine or belief.’

Now I’ll be honest with you, I don’t know how I could have ever possibly believed this was normal and denied having a problem.

photo
I don’t have a wardrobe…I have a Garage!

Look at that? Who in their right mind could deny there is a problem there?

In fact…if a shopping addiction wasn’t the problem, well then me being insane for actually believing this was normal is the possible problem or the fact I could rival any contestant from ‘the biggest hoarder’ show…is another problem. I swear…there’s probably a cat under all those clothes and shoes.

So yes, it took me years to come to terms and finally get a handle on my problem. But bit by bit and day by day things are getting better. Hopefully, if you out there have a problem just like me, you won’t have to go to the length of taking over your garage, whilst your new Toyota Corolla remains parked in your driveway braving the elements, just so your ‘clothes’ can have a home.

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “One Shopping Addiction with a side of denial thank you!

Leave a Reply

