Welcome…my first step to recovery from ‘Shopaholism’!

Welcome….

My name is Yolanda and I am a Shopaholic.  Well I think that’s the way it goes?

So as my blog title states, I am a recovering shopaholic.  I have come to admit that I have a major problem with shopping and clothes and have decided to take the first steps in getting help.   To some people this may sound funny, somewhat like the hilarious comedy with Isla Fisher, “Confessions of a Shopaholic’.  And although, I may have a laugh or two with my friends about my serious condition of ‘not being able to say no to a sale’, let me tell you, it’s not the hilarious comedy, with the happy ending as it may appear to be!

As much as I love fashion and shopping in general, I have come to realise that I do in fact have a very unhealthily relationship with these things.  Just to paint this picture for you, I recently discovered that the local Courier who delivers all my parcels containing my purchased online items, in fact knows me on a first name basis and commented that I must have more shoes than Emelda Marcos.

So…I decided that I need to be serious about my recovery in this debilitating disease I like to call, ‘Shopaholism’, and attend some meetings.  When I mentioned this to friends and family, they all chuckled uncontrollably like I said something funnier than Ricky Gervais, but yes, there are actual meetings for people like myself. People who can’t seem to keep their plastic in their wallets and their spending in check.

I read a few of the tips a.k.a. ‘steps to recovery’ and one of the tools to assist in limiting spending is to get a notebook and write down all your spendings to keep track of the ‘non-essential’ items.  Well apart from the fact that I will need to do some serious debating with myself regarding whether or not that new pair of shoes was ‘essential’ is one issue but to highlight to you all just how crippled I am with ‘Shopaholism’, I actually nearly convinced myself that I needed a new notebook to write down all my spendings?  And not just any notebook,  a brown leather notebook from Fossil in a A5 size so it’s practical enough to carry around in one of my many handbags?

Of course I withheld, with great difficulty, and didn’t purchase the item.  Wow, Compulsive Shopping – 0 and Yolanda – 1.  I am nearly cured I think??  Anyway, my first meeting is tomorrow, so no doubt I will post an update about my first meeting on the way to full recovery from ‘Shopaholicism’.

YolandaImage

One thought on “Welcome…my first step to recovery from ‘Shopaholism’!

Leave a Reply

